One week to go….

My last photo with President and Sister Brown :)

My last photo with President and Sister Brown 🙂

Well, I have 9 days left. I haven’t been counting down, but let’s be honest, it’s hard not to at this point! I still have one email session left before I go – but just know this: I absolutely have loved my mission, and fully intend to stick it out to the end! 😀

I’ll save the rest for next week 🙂

Anyways, I had an interesting experience yesterday where Elder Longman and I didn’t go to church in Oban, we went to church in Airdrie, one of my former areas, which is about 4 hours on a train from Oban! The reason I went was because President Brown wanted to do this last round of exit interviews before he was released. So I met him there, had my exit interview, and now this is just all becoming so real. I know I still have a week and a half left – so I’m not letting it get to me. I just haven’t felt the shock yet of “Wow – I’m going home!” Needless to say, when I write my email next week, I’ll be feeling it.

So this week was awesome in Oban! For the amount of time travelling we have spent and the amount of days we are spending out of our area this transfer, we are being truly blessed! We have taken the Oban – Glasgow train 6 times so far (it’s a 3 hr 20 min train ride) and multiple other trains to get to random places like Edinburgh or Airdrie, and have just spent so many days out of the area.

But, like I said, we’ve been blessed, and here’s how!

We were able to see 4 investigators this week. Glenda, Iain, Stacy, and Cammy. So I’ve told you all about the first three last week, but Cammy is new! So, we’ve started a small football (soccer) group in Oban with some of the kids that go to Oban High School. They are 14-16 years of age and we normally play with 6-8 of us. It’s casual and fun, and questions always arise!

“Why don’t you do this?”

“Why don’t you do that?”

“What can you do?”

“I heard mormons were started by a guy who got a book from an angel.”

All the usual stuff that teenagers think about mormons – especially what they’ve learned from South Park 🙂

It’s great to answer their questions, but this week, “our message” came up. They asked us to teach it to them. It was very casual, we all just sat on the football pitch and taught them the Restoration. One of them, Cammy, who has been curious about religion and seems like a great kid, seemed quite interested and accepted a Book of Mormon that we will bring to him next week 🙂 So, that was probably the highlight of our week, I love finding different situations to find people to teach. I have nothing against knocking on doors (I’ve actually come to enjoy it!), but I’m serving in one of the oldest missions in the world. People have been knocking on doors here for 150+ years! It’s just great to find different opportunities, and normally they are much better!

Anyways, that’s my spiel for this week. I love you all, stay strong!

Love,

Elder Skylar Starr 🙂

Yeah. Dodge Viper! :D

Yeah. Dodge Viper! 😀

DUMBARTON DISTRICT!!!!

DUMBARTON DISTRICT!!!!

Leave a Reply

