On the downhill….

In front of the abbey on Iona, where Christianity was established 1400 years ago in Great Britain!

In front of the abbey on Iona, where Christianity was established 1400 years ago in Great Britain!

At this point, the weeks are going by so quickly I can’t even remember what happened. But hey, that’s nothing new!!

Actually, I can remember a wee bit. First off, I’m now 21!

We were able to see three of our investigators this week; Glenda, Iain, and Stacy. It’s great because all 3 of them seem to be pretty solid, people that will continue to learn and come into the gospel!

Glenda is great. I don’t know if I’ve already told her story, but she was taught 22+ years ago by sister missionaries in Oban. At the time, she had some great experiences with the sisters, but they had to close the area down and since then her spirituality has, for lack of a better term, plummeted. But, of course God knows all! Glenda, a few weeks back when I was still with Elder Reece, had been thinking about “spiritual things” for a few days, and then we came to the door! This, along with many other experiences I’ve had throughout my mission, adds to my testimony of Alma 13:24:
“For behold, angels are declaring it unto many at this time in our land; and this is for the purpose of preparing the hearts of the children of men to receive his word at the time of his coming in his glory.”

I know this is true, especially because I have seen it happen, but I had faith in that promise before I witnessed it.

That adds to a great lesson that I was re-taught yesterday in sacrament meeting! It is this: “Faith precedes the miracle.” So many times we may ask for a sign, or a reassurance of something. And although the simple act of asking is a sign of faith, we often do it half-heartedly.

“Faith is the point where belief turns into action.” We can ask for a sign, but if we ask for a mountain to be moved, we shouldn’t be surprised when God hands us a shovel!

Sorry I started preaching again, I’m getting very accustomed to this missionary thing. 😀

Oh yeah! Today we went to the Isle of Iona!! It was the last thing on my list I wanted to do before I went home, just because it was in our area. We had to take a ferry, a bus, and another ferry to get there, but we did it! Iona is where Christianity was brought to Great Britain by Irish monks over 1400 years ago. So no matter what denomination of Christianity you are, it’s quite a special place to be! To be blunt, most of you reading this email have something to owe to the people who established it there, considering many American’s ancestors come for the UK! Now I’m no historian, but from what I can tell, it was another necessary step that was needed in order for the restoration of the fullness of the Gospel of Jesus Christ to begin! 🙂

Well, I’ll speak to you all again! Have a great one!

Love,

Elder Skylar Starr 🙂

#selfiewithasheep

#selfiewithasheep

And here's more of Iona! It was beautiful!!

And here’s more of Iona! It was beautiful!!

Leave a Reply

