OBAN

Me leaving Ireland.

Me leaving Ireland.

What a crazy week!!!

So, before I forget, I might not email next week. Or the week after that. I’ll be in the Easter Choir and I’m really not quite sure if I’ll have time to email! But send stuff anyways like normal, I’ll respond when I can! I think I’ll just have a very limited time the next 2 weeks.

SO……I’m here in Oban!!!! Man…pictures really cannot describe the beauty of this place. Unfortunately, I left my camera chord at home, so I’ll be sending those out later today. But the camera just doesn’t do it justice. It’s breathtaking!! We are here in Oban, looking over the ocean at the Isle of Karrera with the bigger Isle of Mull in the background. The branch here is tiny. Very tiny. about 6-8 people attend actively, not including the missionaries. We serve with Elder & Sister Miles, senior missionaries. Elder Miles is the Branch President here, and we actually meet in their house for our church services. They used to meet in a high school here, but just a week ago, they got a new house to meet in, in a place called Connel. It’s such a nice meeting house!!
As we were sitting there in our sacrament meeting yesterday, I thought back to April 6, 1830, the day of the official organization of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. The then 6 members met together in the home of Peter Whitmer. We had around the same number in attendance, and we can’t wait for the church here to grow exponentially just as it did then.
We have high hopes and there is just a different feel about this area. I’m hoping to finish my mission here and see this place grow!!
Well, I’ve gotta run home and grab my camera cord so I can send some pictures. But I love Oban!!! Elder Reece and I are excited to get out there and work and make same changes!
I love you all!!!

Love,
Elder Skylar Starr

P.S. Just a quote I loved from our joint Priesthood/Relief Society meeting yesterday:
“I hope we will not live in the past. People who live in the past don’t have very much future. There is a great tendency for us to lament about our losses, about decisions that we have made that we think in retrospect were probably wrong decisions. There is a great tendency for us to feel badly about the circumstances with which we are surrounded, thinking they might have been better had we made different decisions. We can profit by the experience of the past. But let us not spend our time worrying about decisions that have been made, mistakes that have been made. Let us live in the present and in the future.”

-President Ezra Taft Benson

Isle of Kerrera and Mull!

Isle of Kerrera and Mull!

Highland Stag

Highland Stag

Highlands!

Highlands!

Our wee church building/senior couple home!

Our wee church building/senior couple home!

Our view from the church building!!

Our view from the church building!!

Sunset in Oban - Isle of Kerrera close and Isle of Mull off in the distance!

Sunset in Oban – Isle of Kerrera close and Isle of Mull off in the distance!

Bye Ireland!! :(

Bye Ireland!! 😦

3 of my companions!! Elder Utley, Elder Buckley, and Elder Welch

3 of my companions!! Elder Utley, Elder Buckley, and Elder Welch

Leave a Reply

