I Volunter as Tribute!!

image

Well…what a week!!
First off, the work:
We’re finding, meeting a lot of people, getting return appointments, but we just can’t seem to get people to hold their appointments. I don’t think I’ve had a return appointment keep their appointment in over 6 weeks! And every time I try to think of what the “secret” is to get them to keep, all I can think of is “Pray Harder!” So, that is what we’ve done 🙂 I am enjoying the work and both Elder Buckley and I are blessed with positive happy attitudes, so we’re just trying to “Look on the Bright Side of Life” and keep on going! We know that through faith and prayer we’ll be led to those who truly are sincere and desiring to have the gospel in their lives. So, every weekly planning, we have decided that instead of just picking a few places to go and talk to people, we will pray until we are told where to go. Now success will come over time, but it is nice that we are finding where the Lord wants us to go. It’s His work, so we’ve decided to ask Him where He wants us to go even more! I know that this city has SO MUCH potential, I just want it to happen!! I also had an exchange with Elder Jarosz from Spain! He’s in training right now, we had a good time. His doing great on his language for only being out a month!!

Mid-week we had what’s called Zone Interview Training. A meeting in Belfast from 9:30am-5pm…Now I love meetings, but this one was especially long! I got to give a 30min. instruction on the Doctrine of Christ, which was good fun! It’s very simple, and it was great for all of us to go back to the basics! We also got to have an interview with President Brown! It was my 2nd-to-last one, and it went great. He is so great!! He goes home 8 days before me, I’m so sad I won’t have President Brown be the one to send me home! Oh well, he’s gotta let the new mission president do his job! 🙂 I’m sure he’ll do great!

So yesterday was also ZONE DEVELOPMENT!!!!! Ahh it was so much fun!!! We got together in Belfast, so we did, and we just had a ton of  fun the whole day! It was great for those missionaries (us) who are far away from everyone else and don’t have very much contact with other missionaries. So, we played Yoga Football, Chair Football (by the way, when I say football, I mean soccer!), Capture the Flag, a game where you have to eat a ton of skittles, werewolves, and just had a lot of fun!! But the highlight of the night was definitely the “Hunger Games”. So…no, we didn’t have to fight to the death, but it felt like death. So, one “tribute” was chosen from each district randomly, and I was chosen from our district. Elders Dewsbery and Zander and I were taken into another room while our challenges were being set up in the gym. 15 minutes later, the games began! They had us all hyped up so we were pretty excited/scared for what we were about to face. We ran out, had to walk on these wooden stilts to the end of the hallway, then we had to run into the gym, shoot a half court basketball shot, and then throw an American football across the Gym to another person, and as I finished that, we ran up to a table which had 3 cups of these yummy looking purple-ish shakes. I thought “Oh these is easy!” Well, they weren’t raspberry as I had expected. To build the suspense, we had to do 30 push ups before we touched the shakes. I went to drink the shake….and let’s just say I realized that I have a very strong stomach!! Our “sponsors” (the rest of the zone) had chosen to make these shakes out of cat food, mushrooms, vinegar, raw eggs, pickled eggs, pickled onions, sardines, ketchup, mayonnaise, beetroots, and other exciting stuff that no one likes to eat. This shake was nasty!!! In the end, the other two elders threw up and I just stood there staring at the wall trying to drink this and trying to find things to distract me from how disgusting this was! Well, in the end, we were all winners of the “Hunger Games” because we at least tried. Haha it was a ton of fun!!

Well, those were the highlights of my week!! What were yours?? I’d love to hear from you all!!

I hope you all have a great week,

Love,

Elder Starr

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

