We can rest when we’re dead!

Elder Nordfors & I after a stupid rain storm....

Elder Nordfors & I after a stupid rain storm….

It’s another week down and I can’t believe how quickly time is flying. It’s actually kinda sad! The quicker it goes, the more you look back on how much you wish you could’ve done or changed! But, I feel happy with what we’re doing here. We are doing a lot of finding in Derry and the finding is a lot more successful than other places I’ve been, but we just can’t seem to get any appointments to hold! It’s seem to be the biggest struggle my whole mission! We qualify them and everything, we confirm our appointments the best that we can, we bring joint teaches as an act of faith, but they just don’t seem to hold. So, we’re on a path to figure out some sort of magic trick to make it happen! I guess the best we can do is trust that the more good we put in, the more good will come out, and continue on with what we’re doing 🙂 D&C 123:17! Scoltand/Ireland Mission Scripture!
Actually, this reminds me of an insight I gained this week in studies! I finished the Book of Mormon this week, and in the second-to-last chapter of Moroni, I found what I think is now one of my favorite verses in all the scriptures!

Moroni 9:6.

“And now, my beloved son, notwithstanding their hardness, let us labor diligently; for if we should cease to labor, we should be brought under condemnation; for we have a labor to perform whilst in this tabernacle of clay, that we may conquer the enemy of all righteousness, and rest our souls in the kingdom of God.”

Mormon and Moroni are both living in the desolation and wars that have been caused by the extreme wickedness of the people. They seem to really have no hope and almost have a surety that no matter what they do, no one will change their hearts. Mormon sort of gives some sort of rallying-cry to his son, that although all hope seems to be lost, they are called to a work and a ministry and they will be held responsible for what they do, and at the end, he tells his son that they can rest when their time on earth is up. Now I’m not saying that Scotland and Ireland is anything close to that of what Mormon and Moroni experienced, but I think it’s a great example to all of us. It’s probably one of my favorite scriptures now! It doesn’t just apply to missionary work, but to all aspects of our life. Every single one of us is here for a reason, and it is up to us to figure out that reason and then perform whatever work the Lord would have us do while we’re here. It may be hard at times, but we can rest when we’re dead 🙂 It’s all worth it in the end! All we are asked to do is to help the Lord out for 70, 80, 90 years, and we receive the greatest promise that could ever be given for the rest of eternity!

Besides all that, not too many updates from out here!

Hope you all have a great week!

Love,

Elder Skylar Starr 🙂

Leave a Reply

