Fantastic Week!

New Tie!

New Tie!

So I was thinking this week about the song “The Spirit of God” and I realized why the work is so slow in Ireland. “Eire” means Ireland, and the hymn talks about how there will be a day when the “Lamb and the Lion shall lie down together, without any Ire” So I’m sure every ward has sung this at one point, so they are basically saying everything will go great, but Ireland won’t be included!! I think they should change the hymn. There’s my joke for the week..haha 🙂
So this week was grand! I got to watch the Southern Utah Heritage Choir perform at St. Fin Barr’s, which was fantastic!! They had about 100 members and St. Fin Barr’s has the best organ in Ireland, so it sounded amazing!! The day of the concert me and the other elders were basically celebrities in the streets of Cork, it was so fun!!! All these members kept stopping us EVERYWHERE and it was actually really nice to have some contact with members. I met 2 ladies who were Krummenacher’s (not sure how to spell it, the Krazy Sub people!), and a couple people from Gilbert, and this one lady’s brother-in-law was Patriarch Boyle, the one who gave me my blessing! And I also met my dad’s friends, who apparently met in my dad’s house and then started dating and got married. Crazy small world!!! They took some pictures of me and also my mom and dad’s cell phone number and said they would call you guys to say they saw me. I dunno if they actually will, Elder South says people say that a lot but never do it. haha! But if you find the Choir’s Facebook page, we MIGHT be on there 🙂 It was such a fun day!! We met with Tom right beforehand, and then he actually drove us to the Concert, which was fun! He loved it too 🙂
We also had exchanges with Elder Walker, a zone leader. That was fun, we did some street chalking which is where we draw the Plan of Salvation REALLY big on one of the main streets (not the actual streets, where people walk) and we had some good lessons outta that. And then we taught our friends Franklin and Ruben. We showed them the Restoration Dvd, but I don’t really feel like much came outta the lesson. The main starr of the week was Tom, he’s continuing to progress and working towards his date for Oct. 26th, next Saturday!! We’ve only gotta teach Chastity and the 10 Commandments to him, he already knows everything as well, it’s just a formality. He came to church this Sunday and loved it! He REALLY fit in well with the branch, he is such a funny guy. He gave some great input in Priesthood and Gospel Principles, and basically when you talk to him, he already seems like a member. We have District Conference (like Stake Conference) this weekend, and they actually invited the missionaries to come to the Adult Session before, so uhh….this weekend we may have about 13 Elders in our 4-man flat saturday night…That will be quite the experience!! 🙂 But Tom should be there and he will get to meet our mission pres., President Brown, which will be fantastic. We also have Zone meeting up in Limerick tomorrow and we also have to go up to county Tiperary on Thursday, which is the most amazing part of Ireland I’ve seen yet. I am SO excited for this week, it’s basically already planned out and we don’t have any free time, which is a good thing. Well, till next week!!

Love,
Elder Starr

My the force be with you padawan...

My the force be with you padawan…

Skylar sporting his new apron that his mom made him.

Skylar sporting his new apron that his mom made him.

Alls Grand!

Alls Grand!

Skylar with Mike and Shelly Beutler from the Southern Utah Heritage Choir.

Skylar with Mike and Shelly Beutler from the Southern Utah Heritage Choir.

Love'n some Chick-Fil-A sauce with lunch...  Thanks Elise!

Love’n some Chick-Fil-A sauce with lunch… Thanks Elise!

Greenie!

Greenie!

Resting, watching the tree grow.

Resting, watching the tree grow.

Leave a Reply

